Resurrection Eggs

Sharing the story of the Passion Week with children, especially Jesus’ death and resurrection, is made simpler if they can make kinesthetic connections with tangibles. Resurrection Eggs are an easy project you can make on your own or with your children, primarily with items that you can find right in your own home.

I started with two cardboard egg cartons, since they are less likely to be crushed with handling than Styrofoam cartons. Work with what you have, though.

I painted them, inside and outside, using acrylic paint that I had in my craft stash, and then used Mod Podge as a shellac.

I also looked at the directions I best liked online, and listed out what I wanted to use inside of each egg, making some changes to accommodate what I had on hand and to make the items more realistic to the story (in my opinion). Since my little one is too young to do a scavenger hunt for the items like the author suggested, I did my own scavenging. I also typed up a description of each egg’s message, Scripture passage, and item to fit on the outside of the lids rather than putting scraps of paper inside each egg that could be lost or torn, printing it on cardstock and decoupaging it with Mod Podge to the lids. Feel free to use and edit this document for your own eggs if you choose.

Egg 1 Palm Sunday: Instead of using a plastic palm branch or piece of grass, I cut two leaves out of green craft foam and snipped the edges to make them more like palm fronds.

Egg 2 Mary anoints Jesus’ feet: Instead of a cotton ball with perfume on it, I had a few perfume sample bottles that I emptied, rinsed, and dried with a Q-tip.

Egg 3 The Passover: I used Wheat Thins, but you can use whatever crackers you have on hand.

Egg 4 Judas betrays Jesus: I used three dimes as suggested, but you can make a little money pouch, hole punch some gray or silver paper and use the punched out pieces as coins, or anything else you can think of to represent the thirty pieces of silver Judas was paid.

Egg 5 Jesus carries His own cross: I made two crosses from three toothpicks, snipping off the sharp ends, cutting one in half, and gluing the halves across the two longer toothpicks. I tied them off with thread as decoration and to help hold the cross pieces in place. You could also use a cross from the jewelry section of your craft store, or a small foam craft cross- whatever you can find.

Egg 6 The soldiers crown Jesus with thorns: I cut a branch off of a bramble in the woods by our house for thorns. You could use a stem from a rose or, as is suggested in the original post, a toothpick if you don’t have any thorns accessible.

IMG_2175

Egg 7 The soldiers gamble for Jesus’ clothes: I was on the hunt for miniature die as suggested, but ended up using plain clay beads that I found in the clearance section of Hobby Lobby. I labeled the four sides 1-4 and put a couple in each set’s egg.

IMG_2171

Egg 8 Jesus is nailed to the cross and pierced: I used picture nails. Use whatever size nail you have in your toolbox that fits inside the egg. You could even add a small sword to represent the sword used to pierce Jesus’ side (something from a Lego set, perhaps).

Egg 9 Jesus is given vinegar and gall to drink: I used cubes cut from a makeup sponge glued to halves of a toothpick for the vinegar and gall given to Jesus rather than a Q-tip. Again, use what you have.

IMG_2135

Egg 10 The female disciples¬†bring spices to prepare Jesus’ body for burial: I used a pinch of whole cloves, and did end purchasing a bottle to do so.

Egg 11 The stone is rolled away from the tomb: We have a gravel driveway with large pieces of rock, so I snagged a couple of those to use.

I can’t wait to go through these with my son, even as little as he is, and start to share the story of Jesus triumphing over sin through His death, burial, and resurrection.

Happy crafting and storytelling! If you have more suggestions of what can be included in the eggs, please post them in the comments below.

One thought on “Resurrection Eggs

Leave a Reply

